Find out more about Sea State by J.M. Simpson in this spotlight post for the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award.

Find out more about Sea State, the first book in the Castleby series, by J.M. Simpson in this spotlight post for the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award.

This year, the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) is celebrating the books that made it to the semi-finals with a mini spotlight tour for each title.

BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 15 finalists and one overall winner. Find out more on their website or on Twitter. BBNYA is brought to you by The Folio Society (the home of gorgeous books!) and the book blogger support group, The Write Reads.

I’m excited to be one of the panelists for BBNYA so I will be highlighting some of the books that either I read in Rounds One and Two, or that sound exciting and I’d like to read in the future.

BBNYA23 Semi-Finalist badgeAbout Sea State

Length: 335 pages

Genre: Mystery, Thriller

Series: The Castleby series

Age Category: Adult

Date Published: 22 November 2021

Amazon / Goodreads / StoryGraph

Jesse Stevens needs to escape her past, start a new life and feel safe.

The rugged coastline and tight-knit community of Castleby offers her that chance. Her new job with the local lifeboat crew gives her the stability and comfort she craves.

Her skipper, Doug Brodie, faces his own demons. He is struggling with survivor’s guilt, physical and mental scars, and a marriage teetering on the brink.

Jesse is desperate to put aside the dark nightmares and terrible memories. As she and Doug grow closer, she wonders whether she can ever really live a normal life and be happy. But Jesse is in grave danger. Someone is watching her; trying to control and manipulate her life. Someone plans to make her life a living nightmare and return her to the hell she thought she had left behind. Will she ever be free?

Mystery and suspense sprinkled with humour and romance in the first of the author’s Castleby Series.

About the author, J.M. Simpson

J.M. Simpson was born in Essex, but was raised primarily in the West Country, never far from a rugged coastline, a sandy beach, or harbour. With a degree and PhD, much of Jo’s working career has been spent undertaking research in a variety of subjects; most notably in construction where her expertise lies.

Staying in the Welsh town of Tenby some years ago and watching the local lifeboat launch one stormy winter night, gave Jo the beginnings of an idea for a book. Jo’s debut novels are the Castleby series; Sea State and Sea Change; suspense thrillers set against the backdrop of a lifeboat crew in a coastal town. The third in the series, Sea Shaken, is out at the end of September, and there are two further books in the series to come.

Jo lives in Kent, with her two (occasionally stroppy) teenage daughters, her extremely long-suffering husband and her two writing partners Max and Merlin, both rescue Border Collies. She also runs a successful research consultancy, but dreams of becoming a full-time writer.

In what little spare time Jo has, she spends writing, walking the dogs, being an armchair movie critic, dreaming of Scotland or the Pembrokeshire coast; drinking endless coffee’s in various local café’s (on the pretence of writing) or drinking copious amounts of wine in her most favourite pub with friends (where no writing occurs whatsoever).

BBNYA Spotlight Tours

See all of the books featured on my blog in the Spotlight Tours here