The cover of The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath by Ian Green

Follow General Floré on her quest to save her abducted daughter in Ian Green’s debut novel, The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath.

Thank you to Head of Zeus for sending me an Advanced Review Copy of The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath in return for an honest review.

The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath is an action-packed and unique fantasy debut, featuring Floré and a quest to save her abducted daughter. The story starts with local sergeant Floré investigating some strange activity with some new cadets, and we meet her young family: her husband Jonas and their daughter Marta. The village seems quiet and peaceful, but while she is away, demons attack and her daughter is taken.

You can find The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath in eBook and hardback editions on Amazon, Waterstones and Hive. It’s also available on Kindle Unlimited. And don’t forget to add it to your Want to Read list on Goodreads.

My review

‘The child is mine,’ she said, her voice steel, ‘and I am going to find her, and the boy Petron. If I must cut through the council themselves I will do it. If I must fight the Stormguard and Anshuka herself I will do it. If I must tear down the Tullioch Shard by hand I will do it, I will not be distracted by Benazir jumping at shadows in the rotstorm or Starbeck’s auguries of doom; I will not waste time sharpening swords in the Hookstone forest, or peering at crow-men over the Stormwall…’

Wow, this is an amazing debut novel — this is my favourite fantasy read so far this year! I was absolutely hooked from start to finish. This book has all the elements of a story I love: a rich lore, a strong female lead and an exciting, fast-paced story!

The world is incredibly rich and vibrant, with a huge lore. Every chapter starts with an extract from a character diary a history book and so on about the world, its history and customs. This makes the world feel established and grounded in real life. There are different races, the Tullioch and Antian. And I loved the magic system — the skein, and stories of the different magic users, especially Tollen the One Eye. The way that we are introduced to this exciting new world is done so well, I didn’t feel overwhelmed with information despite how much there is to learn.

The characters are great too and I loved them all, but particularly the two main characters — Floré and Ysolda. Both women are brave in their own way — Floré an experienced fighter while Ysolda is battling her own demons and fear of wolves. There are flashbacks to Floré’s past which I really enjoyed too: her training as a cadet, wars she has fought in and giving more context and history to the world.

Overall, this is an addictive fantasy that I just couldn’t put down. This book is a huge achievement, especially as this is Ian’s debut novel. An absolute must read — and I can’t wait to read more from this world!

The blurb for The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath

Fight the Storm.

Protect your people.
The endless rotstorm rages over the ruins of the Ferron Empire. Floré would never let the slavers of the Empire rise again. As a warrior of the Stormguard Commandos, she wrought horrors in the rotstorm to protect her people. She did her duty and left the bloodshed behind.

Fight for your family.
Floré’s peace is shattered when blazing orbs of light cut through the night sky and descend on her village. Her daughter is abducted and Floré is forced into a chase across a land of twisted monsters and ancient gods. She must pursue the mysterious orbs, whose presence could herald the return of the Empire she spent her entire life fighting.

Destroy your enemies.
Now, Floré must take up the role she had sworn to put aside and become the weapon the Stormguard trained her to be, to save not only her daughter, but her people…

Read this action-packed and unique fantasy adventure from debut Scottish author, Ian Green. Perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson’s Stormlight Archive series or Sam Sykes’ Seven Blades In Black.

Ian GreenAbout the author, Ian Green

Ian Green is a writer from Northern Scotland with a PhD in epigenetics. His fiction has been widely broadcast and performed, including winning the BBC Radio 4 Opening Lines competition and winning the Futurebook Future Fiction prize. His short fiction has been published by Londnr, Almond Press, OpenPen, Meanjin, Transportation Press, The Pigeonhole, No Alibi Press, Minor Lits, and more.

You can find him on Twitter @ianthegreen or learn more about his work on his website ianthegreen.com.

You can find The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath in eBook and hardback editions on Amazon, Waterstones and Hive. It’s also available on Kindle Unlimited. And don’t forget to add it to your Want to Read list on Goodreads.