The cover of Lord of the Hunt by David Craig

Lord of the Hunt is the second book in David Craig’s Sooty Feathers series, set in Glasgow in the 1890s.

Thank you to Rachel of Rachel’s Random Resources for sending me a free copy of Lord of the Hunt in return for an honest review.

In Lord of the Hunt, Wilton’s father has just became the 6th Baron Ashwood, with Hunt becoming the Heir Apparent. He and Tam Foley travel to the family estate in the Highlands, where they find they can’t escape the vampire war.

You can find Lord of the Hunt on Goodreads, and buy from Elsewhen Press and from Amazon.

My review

A year ago I read and reviewed Resurrection Men, the first book in The Sooty Feathers series, so I was looking forward to reading more in Lord of the Hunt!

The book jumps into the action straight away, with lots of change after the events of the previous book. The story is fast-paced, but still manages to keep character development too. The characters are traumatised over the events in the previous books and this keeps the story grounded, despite the supernatural elements (werewolves, vampires and even zombies!).

My favourite thing about this series is the characters. Wilton and Tam feature slightly less in this book and I did miss their banter a little. But this gives the other secondary characters a chance to shine. Lady Delaney and Kerry Knox make a fantastic duo and are definitely the stars of the novel, with Kerry going undercover in different guises to find out more information. Their sections are so much fun to read!

The story certainly kept me on my toes throughout the novel with lots of excitement and developments until the very end. I enjoyed this one more than the first, particularly after learning more about each of the characters. I look forward to the next installment in the Sooty Feathers series!

The blurb for Lord of the Hunt

Death rides the blood of a pale horse

June 1893.

Undead prowl the streets of Glasgow at night hunting for blood. They, in turn, are hunted by the formidable Lady Delaney and her apprentice Kerry Knox, whose fight against the secret society ruling Glasgow will lead them into the city’s industrial heart where the poor toil in miserable conditions. Children have been exploited in mills and factories for decades, but the Sooty Feather Society has refined its cruel disregard in service to the undead.

Delaney and Knox are not the society’s only problem. The elusive demon Arakiel employs murder and necromancy in his campaign to seize control of Glasgow, avenging betrayal and reclaiming what was once his.

Wilton Hunt and Tam Foley are lying low in the Highlands where Hunt’s father has recently inherited title and estate. The blue skies and clear waters of Loch Aline may seem a tranquil sanctuary to the city men, but its forbidding forests and shadowed glens conceal dark secrets pertaining to Hunt’s family, and a diabolical revelation will change Wilton’s life forever.

Demons walk the crowded, cobbled streets of Glasgow, and a necromancer’s debt is called in. Knox will learn what joining this war might cost her; Hunt and Foley will learn they can’t escape it. Their diverged paths will meet again when dark magic unleashes a horror not everyone will survive…

A photo of David CraigAbout the author, David Craig

Aside from three months living on an oil tanker sailing back and forth between America and Africa, and two years living in a pub, David Craig grew up on the west coast of Scotland.  He studied Software Engineering at university, but lost interest in the subject after (and admittedly prior to) graduation. He currently works as a strategic workforce planning analyst for a public service contact centre, and lives near Glasgow with his wife, daughter and two rabbits.

Being a published writer had been a life-long dream, and one that he was delighted to finally realise with his debut novel, Resurrection Men, the first in the Sooty Feathers series, published by Elsewhen Press in 2018. Thorns of a Black Rose was David’s second novel, also published by Elsewhen Press. He returns to the Sooty Feathers series with Lord of the Hunt.

You can find out more about David and his upcoming books on TwitterFacebook and his Goodreads blog.

You can find Lord of the Hunt on Goodreads, and buy from Elsewhen Press and from Amazon.