Author Spotlight on David Craig

David Craig is the author of the vampire series The Sooty Feathers, set in Glasgow in the 1890s.

A year ago I read and reviewed Resurrection Men, the first book in The Sooty Feathers series and David Craig’s debut novel. It’s published by Elsewhen Press, a small independent publisher specialising in speculative fiction.

Since then, I have read the second in the series, Lord of the Hunt (review to follow shortly!) which I also really enjoyed.

Both Resurrection Men and Lord of the Hunt are available to read on Amazon Kindle for just £2.99 each.

About Resurrection Men and Lord of the Hunt

Resurrection Men follows Wilton Hunt and Tam Foley, who have a side-job digging up dead bodies for medical research, working as ‘resurrection men’. After exhuming a girl’s corpse, they fill in her grave — and when they turn back, she’s disappeared. It turns out that this is just one of several corpses that has gone missing recently. When Hunt is attacked by the girl who is supposed to be dead, the pair realise that there is more to this than meets the eye.

In Lord of the Hunt, Wilton’s father has just became the 6th Baron Ashwood, with Hunt becoming the Heir Apparent. He and Tam Foley travel to the family estate in the Highlands, where they find they can’t escape the vampire war.

Why you should read this series

I always love a vampire story and the Sooty Feathers series is no exception!

The atmosphere of Resurrection Men is incredibly dark and gothic. David has painted an incredibly vivid picture of historical Glasgow, and I found it totally immersive!

I really loved the dialogue and banter between Hunt and Foley. It feels incredibly realistic and the same kind of jokes I could imagine my friends and I making. There’s also several strong female characters — Lady Delaney and Kerry Knox, who fight vampires together. This is particularly impressive given the time period, too, as I had expected these books to be mostly male-dominated.

Both books have great lore and history, and I really enjoyed them! They are a great mix of horror and story, and I’d definitely recommend them.

Read my full review of Resurrection Men here.

David Craig, the author of Resurrection MenAbout the author, David Craig

Aside from three months living on an oil tanker sailing back and forth between America and Africa, and two years living in a pub, David Craig grew up on the west coast of Scotland.  He studied Software Engineering at university, but lost interest in the subject after (and admittedly prior to) graduation. He currently works as a strategic workforce planning analyst for a public service contact centre, and lives near Glasgow with his wife, daughter and two rabbits.

Being a published writer had been a life-long dream, and one that he was delighted to finally realise with his debut novel, Resurrection Men, the first in the Sooty Feathers series, published by Elsewhen Press in 2018. Thorns of a Black Rose was David’s second novel, also published by Elsewhen Press. He returns to the Sooty Feathers series with Lord of the Hunt.

You can find out more about David and his upcoming books on TwitterFacebook and his Goodreads blog.

Where to buy

You can find Resurrection Men oGoodreads and buy from Elsewhen Press and Amazon in eBook and paperback.

You can find Lord of the Hunt on Goodreads, and buy from Elsewhen Press and from Amazon.