The cover of Deadly Secrets by Ann Girdharry

In Deadly Secrets by Ann Girdharry, Detective David Grand and psychologist Ruby Silver investigate a 20-year-old case…

Thank you to Rachel of Rachel’s Random Resources for sending me free copy of Deadly Secrets in return for an honest review.

20 years ago, two boys went missing from Bladen Hall, an Approved School for young offenders. The school closed shortly after and the boys were never found. And now, this cold case has come back into the spotlight. Nurse Michelle Dixon is kind and caring. She loves her job, and cares for Mr Quinn on his deathbed. Before he dies, he tells her his secret — and hours later, Nurse Dixon is murdered. What happened to Barry and Kevin? And who killed Nurse Dixon? Detective Inspector David Grant investigates, working alongside Ruby Silver, a criminal psychologist.

You can find Deadly Secrets on Goodreads and buy a copy from Amazon on paperback and Kindle. It’s also available to borrow with your Kindle Unlimited subscription.

My review

Deadly Secrets is the sequel to Ann Girdharry’s previous book, Deadly Motives. I haven’t read the first book in the series but this didn’t hinder my enjoyment of the book — it reads well as a stand alone.

I liked the characters in Grant’s team at the Himlands Heath office. They are well rounded and interesting characters. Tom discovered his father’s body when he was a young boy. The investigation concluded that his father committed suicide — but Tom and his mother have never agreed with it. Tom has flashbacks throughout the book to his father, and I thought this was sensitively written. It seemed very realistic so I wasn’t surprised to see that Ann is a psychotherapist!

Ruby is also an interesting character. She grew up in care and has a lot of childhood trauma to try and unpack. She is awkward at times and struggles to make friends. This really came across well when reading the book and I could relate to her (as someone who is also forever awkward around people!).

The only character I didn’t like was Caroline. She is the daughter of a very rich retired magistrate and hotel owner, who has never had to work. She calls people who work “quaint” when the police come to ask her and her family some questions. I didn’t find her character very realistic. She seemed like a caricature rather than a real person – but she only features in a few scenes so this wasn’t a huge issue!

Generally the book follows Grant and his team as they investigate the murders. A few chapters are from the murderer’s point of view, which give a chilling insight into their twisted mind. There are also a few chapters that show the story from the missing boys’ point of view. I really enjoyed this! It made me really feel for the two young boys and made me root for Grant’s team.

The plot moves along very quickly. I had gotten the killer’s identity wrong so the reveal at the end was a big shock!

Deadly Secrets is a great murder mystery and I’ve given it a solid 3.5 stars. It has realistic and interesting characters, with realistic portrayals of trauma. The story is fast-paced and hard to figure out too. I liked the changes of point of view, which kept me engaged throughout. Plus, while it is the second in the series, it can easily be read as a stand alone!

The blurb for Deadly Secrets

How long can you get away with murder?

In an idyllic Sussex town, Mr Quinn whispers a secret on his death bed. Hours later the person who cared for Quinn is killed.

Mr Quinn’s secret sets off events unlike anything Detective Grant and Psychologist Ruby Silver have ever seen.

A series of deaths follow as a killer tries to cover their twenty-year trail of murder by drowning.

Grant, Silver and the team must track a killer who has been getting away with murder for years. But when treachery, corruption and secrets from the past are used against Sergeant Tom Delaney, the killer turns their attention to one of Grant’s own…

Detective David Grant and Psychologist Ruby Silver are back in this unmissable new crime thriller. It can be read as the sequel to Deadly Motives or as a brilliant stand-alone. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza and Helen H. Durrant.

About the author, Ann Girdharry

Ann Girdharry is a British, crime thriller author. She’s a trained psychotherapist and worked as a manager in the not-for-profit sector for many years.

Ann is an avid reader and her favourites are crime and suspense. She regularly talks about her favourite reads to her newsletter subscribers. She enjoys travelling and apart from the UK, she’s lived in the USA (where her first daughter was born), Norway (where her second daughter was born) and she currently lives in France.

She was an ERIC HOFFER BOOK AWARD Finalist 2017.

Find out more about Ann on her website (and sign up for her newsletter), Goodreads, Facebook and Twitter.

You can find Deadly Secrets on Goodreads and buy a copy from Amazon on paperback and Kindle. It’s also available to borrow with your Kindle Unlimited subscription.

Blog tour organised by Rachel’s Random Resources

The blog tour banner for Deadly Secrets by Ann Girdharry

I reviewed Deadly Secrets as part of a book tour organised by Rachel of Rachel’s Random Resources. Check out the other bloggers taking part in this book tour for more reviews, extracts and guest posts!